The World at Your Fingertips

Articles & Blogs

Who Is Eligible for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana – All Income Groups



The Government of India constituted the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY) on April 1, 2016, in order to provide roof over the heads of the EWS (Economically Weaker Sections) & Low Middle Class Sections of our country.

You can try Also read: Download Turbo C++ For Windows

The main objective of this scheme is to provide a permanent house to all the those who don’t have their own home or are living in crude and broken houses. The houses will include all the basic amenities and will provide roof to over 20 million people by the year 2022. If you’re also thinking to apply under this scheme, then you should definitely check whether you’re eligible for this scheme or not.

Who can Apply for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana

For all those who are thinking to get a house under the PMAY scheme need to fulfill the eligibility criteria which includes some key points in accordance to the different income groups and sections of our country.

This scheme not only provides house to the poor sections but in the scheme you can also avail the home loan on effective rates. In the recent news is that the government has decreased the GST rates from 12% to 8% which would be highly beneficial for all income Groups for planning to get a house under the scheme.

If you are looking to get home loan via Credit Linked Subsidy Scheme (CLSS) then you will have to pay the GST of 8% on the loan. The most important eligibility criteria the home loan through CLSS is that the family income of the applicant should not be more than Rs 18 lakh per year and the carpet area should be 150 square meter maximum on which the applicant will be eligible for the subsidy.

After this the applicants can check their name in Awas Yojana List. Now let’s check the eligibility criteria for different income sections who are applying under the scheme.

Two Women Wearing Traditional Dress Carrying Basins

Eligibility for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana

The eligibility criteria under the PMAY has been branched into six different categories in order to apply under the scheme. The financial reinforcements from the government has issued the eligibility criteria which every applicant needs to follow successfully.

Income Section Eligilibilty Criteria
Economically Weaker Section (EWS) EWS Category includes those people whose annual household income is less than rupees 3 lakh. If you are from EWS then you will need to submit the relevant proof like Income Certificate to the government in order to apply under the scheme.


·        Light Income Group (LIG)           LIG category includes those people whose annual household income is between rupees 3 lakh to 6 lakh. Again the applicants will need to provide relevant proof of their income.


Medium Income Group (MIG1)            The MIG 1 category includes those people whose annual household income is below 12 lakh. If you are from MIG 1 category then you are eligible to get loan up to rupees 9 lakh for the construction of your house that you get under the scheme.


Medium Income Group (MIG2)            MIG 2 category includes those people whose annual household income is between rupees 12 to 18 lakh. The amount of loan that these people can get is up to rupees 12 lakh.


Minorities All those people who are coming from SC/ST or OBC will come under the minority section. They will need to provide their proof that they belong to this section. The proof may include caste and income certificate.
Women Women can apply under the scheme if they belongs to EWS/LIG category.

Another important basic requirement of this scheme is that no person from the beneficiary’s family should have their own home. A family should consist husband, wife, and unmarried children.