15th January is observed every year as the Army Day in India. 15th January is a historical day celebrates as the Army Day as on this in 1949, Field Marshal Kodandera M Cariappa.

On this day he took over as the first Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Army from General Sir Francis Butcher, the last British Commander-in-Chief.

The Army day is dedicated to the Indian soldiers and army to give them honor and show them gratitude who fought and battle to safeguard and protect the honor of India.

70th Army Day: Take A Look At The Gallantry Awards Of The Indian Army

Image Source: https://www.ndtv.com

On 70th Army Day today, President Ram Nath Kovind and Prime Minister Narendra Modi already greeted the officers and troops of the Indian Army and they share their thankfulness and appreciation of the Indian Army Day on the 15th January itself.

Important & Vital Steps To Achieve Success in Life

All citizen of India has “unwavering trust and pride” in the Indian Army, the honorable Prime Minister stated.

On 70th Army day, take a look at Gallantry Awards of the Indian Army:

Gallantry awards are the kind of special and honorable award of the Indian Army which is classified into two categories: gallantry in the face of enemy and gallantry other than in the face of the enemy.

The medals awarded by the President of India for gallantry showcased at the battlefield are:

  1. Param Vir Chakra (PVC)
    2. Mahavir Chakra (MVC)
    3. Vir Chakra
    4. Sena Medal, Nao Sena Medal, Vayu Sena Medal
    5. Mention in Dispatches
    6. Chiefs of Staff Commendation CardThe Param Vir Chakra is the highest military award. Subedar Major Bana Singh, Naib Subedar Sanjay Kumar, and Subedar Yogendra Singh Yadav are the 2 only living recipients of the Pram Vir Chakra award.

Well, the Mahavir Chakra has been awarded to 218 martyrs for their unselfish and altruistic courage which they display on the battlefield. Mostly, the Mahavir Chakra medals were awarded pots the Indo-Pakistani War of 1971.

Vir Chakra is third in priority and was first awarded in 1947 to Nadikerianda Bheemaiah and R Kanikasamy for Kashmir war.

In the second category, the medals are awarded by the President of India for gallantry which showcased Indian Army’s bravery in the battlefield

  1. Ashok Chakra
    Kirti Chakra
    3. Shaurya Chakra
    4. Sena Medal, Nao Sena Medal, Vayu Sena Medal
    5. Mention in Dispatches6. Chiefs of Staff Commendation CardAshok Chakra is India’s highest peacetime military award. Havildar Hangpan Dada was awarded the Ashoka Chakra for killing four terrorists who had penetrated into north Kashmir in 2017.

Five Kirti Chakras, 17 Shaurya Chakras, 85 Sena Medals, three Nao Sena Medals and two Vayu Sena Medals were also awarded.

© 2018, thecheckernews.com. All rights reserved.

Facebook Comments